Uncategorized

Social Media & Being Intentional

Are you “social media intentional”?

Design

Are you one to be side-tracked while using social media? Yeah, me too. I’ll be honest. There are times I intend to do one thing and do another. For an example, the conversations in my mind go like this: I’ll jump on LinkedIn to see what’s going on. However, I, unfortunately, don’t make it to LinkedIn because I’ve wasted time on Facebook.

My guess is you’re probably reading this because you’ve gotten side-tracked. No worries, friend. I’m not here to judge you. In fact, I’d like to share a few ways that have helped me to be intentional in using social media.

1- Plan: Do you have a daily plan for what you want to accomplish online?

Similar to writing a grocery list, business plans and creating budgets, it’s just as imperative to write a daily plan to use social media. I’ve often heard if you don’t have a plan for, you fill in the blank, someone will use it for you. So, in what ways are you using social media? Is it for engaging with clients, business opportunities or marketing? Why not create a specific plan for how you want to get it done. Remember be specific.

2-Pick one: Choose which outlet offers the best opportunities to you or your business. 

We have a plethora to choose from; LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, SnapChat, Pinterest but choose the best for you or your business and stick with it. We often wonder the reason we struggle to m
ake progress. I believe it’s due to not giving ourselves enough time to learn. Be consistent. Stick it out. I promise you will get a return on your hard work; especially when accompanied with the first tip.

3- Accountability: Find someone to hold you accountable.

What helps to hold tips one and two together? Accountability. Finding someone who’s willing to hold you accountable isn’t an easy task. I once asked someone to hold me accountable. They responded by asking how needy would I be. I don’t believe they meant harm; however, that was a sign for me to know we weren’t a right fit. Choose someone to hold you accountable who believes in you and wants to see you succeed.

This isn’t rocket science, but imagine what it would be like if we used these tips. How many people would you be able to impact? What would you do with the extra time? What would you be able to do with more financial resources? I think this goes without saying, let’s get back to work.

Leave a Reply

